The Interlaboratory Testing Group (ITG) was formed to oversee tests using reference nanomaterial-matrix composites (as a starting point for methods development) and positive controls in a “round robin” or similar approach to enable improvements, standardization, and widespread use of methods. The ITG is an independent task group recruited and charged by the Steering Committee. The ITG is composed of experts in nanomaterial exposure, nanomaterial release measurement, and nanomaterial use as pertaining to consumer and environmental risk assessment.

Interlaboratory Testing Group Members (mid 2014):

Core Group (initiating the effort)

  • Janet Carter (Occupational Safety and Health Administration – OSHA, US)
  • Carolyn Cairns (independent)
  • Chris Kingston (National Research Council – NRC, Canada)
  • Richard Zepp, William Boyes (US Environmental Protection Agency – EPA)
  • Debra Kaiser (National Institute of Standards and Technology – NIST, US)
  • Jessica Muller (Nanocyl, Belgium)
  • Wendel Wohlleben (BASF, Germany)
  • Treye Thomas (Consumer Product Safety Commission – CPSC, US)
  • Thomas Peters (University of Iowa, US)
  • Thomas Kuhlbusch (Institut für Energie- und Umwelttechnik e.V. – IUTA, Germany)
  • Page McAndrew (Arkema, US and France)

In late 2014 the ITG began a pilot phase to develop methods to measure particle release in regards to: 1) abrasion/sanding of nanomaterial-matrix composites (“Sanding Module”), and 2) weathering of nanomaterial-matrix composites (“Weathering Module”). Participating experts were chosen and invited specifically for their extensive knowledge and experience with the relevant methods and materials. Please see below for a list of the experts and laboratories participating in the Sanding and Weathering Modules:

Method Development Laboratories for the Sanding Module

Receiving 11cm diameter by 1cm thick composite disks from manufacturers:
IUTA, Germany Jessica Meyer, Thomas Kuhlbusch
KIST, Korea Gwi-Nam Bae
CEA, France Jean-Francois Damlencourt, Brice Fiorentino
Receiving air filter samples from the above laboratories – NOT receiving materials from Manufacturers:
NRC, Canada Chris Kingston
CPSC/NIST, Maryland, US Treye Thomas, Keana Scott

(CEA = Office of Atomic Energy and Alternative Energies, CPSC = Consumer Products Safety Commission, ERDC = Engineer Research and Development Center, IUTA = Institut für Energie- und Umwelttechnik e.V., KIST = Korean Institute of Science and Technology, NIST = National Institute of Standards and Technology, NRC = National Research Council)


Method Development Laboratories for the Weathering Module

Receiving square wafers from manufacturers and then conducting the weathering protocol:
BASF, Germany Wendel Wohlleben
EPA, Georgia, US Richard Zepp
CEREGE, France Jerome Rose
Leitat Technical Institute, Spain Socorro Vazquez
EPA, Ohio, US E. Sahle-Demessie


Some of the laboratories listed in the table above, as well as National Research Council (Canada), will be performing immersion sampling of the composite wafers, followed by analysis using a number of techniques (depending on the laboratory) including S/TEM, ICP-MS, EDS, UV-Vis, FFF, and AUC.

As the pilot phase moves forward, the experts will develop and revise detailed protocols for how to implement the measurement methods in the lab. The protocols are meant to useful and reproducible by any research experts interested in using the methods to measure nanomaterial release from consumer products. As the project progresses, the protocols will be edited and improved to be optimal and accurate.